Distinguished Knoxville Attorneys
Complimentary Case Evaluations
Back to Top

Domestic Violence & Protection Orders in TN

If you have recently been arrested for domestic violence in Tennessee, not only do you face serious criminal penalties such as jail time and fines, but you may also be subject to a protection order. Also known as a restraining order, a protection order is signed by a judge and prevents someone from committing any abuse or threatening such abuse, contacting another person and his/her family members, having custody or visitation of a child, as well as possessing a firearm. 

The following are the two types of protection orders available for domestic violence victims in Tennessee: 

  • Temporary Protection Orders (TPOs) – This type of protection order is short-term, designed to protect an alleged victim until an “extended protection order” (EPO) is issued. TPOs can be issued for “good cause,” meaning a judge needs to believe that someone is in imminent or present danger of abuse. 

  • Extended Protection Orders (EPOs) – This type of order is issued after a full court hearing, where each side presents their cases. If a judge grants an alleged victim an EPO, then the order is valid for up to one (1) year. However, EPOs can be extended for one-year periods. 

If you violate the terms of a protection order in Tennessee, you may be charged with criminal contempt, which is a Class C misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of 30 days and a fine of up to $50. However, if a violation involves assaulting an alleged victim, then you may be charged with a Class C felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 15 years and a maximum fine of $10,000. 

If you are facing domestic violence charges and a protection order against you in Knoxville, look no further than Eldridge & Blakney, PC to let a legal team with more than 90 years of collective experience protect your rights and freedom. Contact us today at (865) 544-2010 for a free initial consultation. 

Categories