Distinguished Knoxville Attorneys
Complimentary Case Evaluations
Back to Top

Tennessee Marijuana Laws

While many states throughout the country have legalized the medical and/or recreational use of marijuana, Tennessee is not one of those states. Other than CBD oil with very low amounts of THC (the ingredient that makes users “high”), possessing, using, selling, or growing cannabis is a serious crime. 

Marijuana Possession 

Possession of up to half an ounce (approximately 14 grams) of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of at least $250. A second conviction will result in a minimum fine of $500, while a third conviction will lead to a minimum fine of $1,000. 

Marijuana Sale 

Selling between half an ounce or ten (10) lbs. of cannabis is a Class E felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to six years and a maximum fine of $5,000. Selling between ten (10) and 70 lbs. of marijuana is a Class D felony, which carries a prison term of up to 12 years and a maximum fine of $50,000.  

Selling between 70 and 300 lbs. is a Class B felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 30 years and a maximum fine of $200,000. Selling more than 300 lbs. is a Class A felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of 60 years and a fine of up to $500,000. 

Marijuana Cultivation 

Growing up to ten (10) marijuana plants is a Class E felony. Growing between ten (10) and 19 plants is a Class D felony. 

Growing between 20 and 99 plants is a Class C felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 15 years and a maximum fine of $100,000. Growing between 100 and 499 plants is a Class B felony, while growing more than 500 plants is a Class A felony. 

If you or a loved one has been charged with a drug crime in Knoxville, contact Eldridge & Blakney, PC today at (865) 544-2010 to let our legal team protect your rights and freedom. Get more than 90 years of combined experience on your side! 

Categories